AESU and Australian Branches

The Consultative Council for the English-Speaking Union of the Commonwealth of Australia (AESU)

An agreement was made between all the state and territory branches of The English-Speaking Union in Australia at a meeting held Canberra, ACT on Saturday 20th February 2010. The agreement was to establish a forum to enable consultation between state and territory branches of the English-Speaking Union in the Commonwealth of Australia to be known as The Consultative Council for the English-Speaking Union of the Commonwealth of Australia (to be referred to as AESU).

This is a wonderful agreement for ESU as it unites all branches into one representational Consultative Council. This agreement creates a unified structure that is fully answerable to all of the State Branches and only carries out Branch directives.

AESU is established with the overriding object of promoting global understanding and friendship through the use of the English Language.

Other objects are:-
  • To co-ordinate matters of mutual interest,
  • To make overseas contacts,
  • To facilitate a common approach where appropriate, and
  • To further ESU development and activity in Australia and overseas through public speaking, debating and communication activity including educational, cultural, current affairs and historical events, professional and educational conferences, exchanges, lectures and seminars.



AESU may from time to time determine Australian representation on the International Council of the English-Speaking Union;

AESU may decide how the international levy applicable for Australia is to be paid by each of the Australian branches in accordance with the proportion of its membership to the total Australian membership;

AESU may invite English-Speaking Union branches of Australian States or Territories not being original members to become members on such terms and conditions as AESU decides;

AESU may present an agreed common position on matters of relevance to the Australian branches;

AESU may advise members on matters of common interest or policy, arrange for the distribution and communication among the branches of information of common interest or concern, and initiate projects or activities of Australian or international interest which further the aims of the English-Speaking Union.


The International Council

AESU will maintain regular contact with the Secretary General and the President of the International Council of the English-Speaking Union by sending an annual report on activities, and responding to requests for information.

This amalgamation of all ESU state and territory branches will now enable ESU(Qld) to have access to the support and educational resources of ESU International and elevates Australia into an acknowledged position of leadership within the Asian Pacific Region.

The Consultative Council for the English-Speaking Union of the Commonwealth of Australia (AESU)


AESU Office Bearers are:

Robert Furlan National President and President ESU Victoria
Chris Perriam Vice-President and Hon. Secretary
Emeritus Professor Roly Sussex President ESU (Qld)
Mr Martin Hess President ESU (ACT)
Prof David Flint AM President ESU (NSW)


Brisbane: ESU (Queensland Branch)

Year of Foundation: 1959
Postal: PO Box 1429 Milton BC Qld Australia 4064
Events: Regular programme – refer to website –
Sponsorships: Refer to website –
President: Emeritus Professor Roly Sussex


Adelaide: ESU (South Australian Branch)

Year of Foundation: 1923 (31 Aug)
Postal: PO Box 340, Stepney SA Australia 5069
Phone: (61) 8 8362 3036
Fax: (61) 8 8362 3036
Events: Regular events (except January & February) – monthly lunches with speakers, Annual Dinner, Christmas function.
Sponsorships: Plain English Speaking Award State Final second prize, South Australian English Teachers Association Spring Poetry
“Walter Welburn” prize for best country poem for R-12 student, Rostrum Voice of Youth State Final senior prize.
Patron: His Excellency Rear Admiral Kevin Scarce AC CSC RANR Governor of South Australia.
Contacts: Mr Peter Davies (President)
Mr Chris Perriam (Vice President)
Mrs Jill Baratosy (Secretary)


Canberra: ESU (ACT Branch)

Year of Foundation:
Postal: PO Box 5226, Kingston ACT 2604
Mob: 0438 014 987
Contacts: Mr Martin Hess


Melbourne: ESU (Victorian Branch)

Year of Foundation: 1919
Postal: PO Box 9427, South Yarra Victoria Australia 3141
Office: ESU House, 146 West Toorak Road South Yarra Victoria
Phone: (61) 3 9866 3007
E mail:
Events: Regular monthly events (except January)


Sydney: ESU (New South Wales Branch)

Year of Foundation: 1923 (23 April)
Postal: 206 Glenmore Road, Paddington NSW 2021
Phone: +61 401 92 7878
Events: Regular quarterly events, Member’s newsletter
Sponsorships: The NSW Plain English Speaking Award, The Premier’s Debating Challenge, The Hume Barbour/ESU Debating Competition
Contacts: Professor David Flint AM (President)
Mr John David Olsen (Vice President)

All Rights Reserved 2021 ESU QLD / Website Design: Brizweb