ESU Roly Sussex Short Story Award 2016 Winners



2016 ESU Roly Sussex Short Story Award Winners

The English Speaking Union QLD is pleased to announce the Winning Entries


On behalf of the Board of Directors of ESU QLD I extend our sincere appreciation to the Chair of the Judging Panel Professor Peter Little AM Deputy Vice Chancellor Corporate Programs & Partnerships Qld University of Technology. Judges: Emeritus Professor Roland Sussex OAM – University of Queensland e-researcher and ABC Radio Presenter, Ann Garms OAM President English Speaking Union Queensland. David Fagan Director, Corporate Transition, Qld University of Technology for their outstanding dedication and commitment in ensuring a thorough, professional transparent process of review.
It has been a distinct pleasure to work collaboratively with Professor Roly Sussex in developing the Inaugural ESU Roly Sussex Short Story Award. Story telling is the inspiration we need most in our lives, it enhances, develops and nourishes our love and appreciation of the English Language.
A special thank you to so many talented story writers Australia wide for all the truly amazing short story entries. The extremely high standard made the Judge’s Decision very difficult indeed.


Ann Garms OAM
President ESU QLD.


Congratulations to the 2016 Winners


First prize Adult 2016

Darryl R Dymock

Story title: “The space between”


Second prize Adult 2016

Gwen Andrews

Story title: “The ABCs of Love”


First prize Student 2016

Ellen Vickerman

Story title: “Alla”


Second prize Student 2016

Cade Swanson

Story title: “Silence of the Trees”


Highly Commended (2 Awardees)

1. Benjamin Allmon

Story title: “Dicky’s Dilemma”

2. Erwin Cabucos

Story title: “Requiem for Pasig River”

All Rights Reserved 2021 ESU QLD / Website Design: Brizweb