ESU Roly Sussex Short Story Award 2017 Winners



20 DECEMBER 2017


The ESU Roly Sussex Short Story Award 2017


ESU Qld on behalf of the Judging Panel is pleased to announce the following winners for 2017:


Leigh Coyle from Brisbane Queensland
“Bad Blood”

Susan Bennett from Warragill Victoria
“Tidy Town”

Kit Scriven from Kyneton Victoria
“She Wore Red on Her Lips”


The ESU Roly Sussex Short Story Award is one of the most prized Literary Awards and is designed to foster original creative writing of outstanding quality, including experimental, challenging or thought provoking work. The Competition will be held every year, commencing in 2015.

Congratulations to our 2017 Award Winners, on behalf of Emeritus Professor Roly Sussex OAM, and our Judging Panel Emeritus Professor Peter Little AC and esteemed former Editor of the Courier Mail, David Fagan, we wish to sincerely thank all of our Short Story Writers for their captivating entries.

 The 2018 ESU Roly Sussex Short Story Award is now open for Entries, closing Friday 13 April 2018, Judging complete by 31 May 2018. Winners will be advised with details posted on the ESU Website on 5 June 2018.

The Governor of Queensland, His Excellency the Hon Paul de Jersey AC will formally present the 2017 and 2018 Awardees with their Crystal Trophies at a Ceremony at Government House at a date to be advised in either August or September 2018 on the 100th Anniversary of ESU International. Interstate winners will be flown to Queensland for the presentation by our Governor.

The Board of Directors of ESU QLD express their grateful appreciation to His Excellency, the Hon Paul de Jersey AC and Mrs Kaye de Jersey for their invaluable support of this most prestigious Literary Award.

Warm regards


Ann Garms OAM
President ESU QLD
Vice President AESU

All Rights Reserved 2024 ESU QLD / Website Design: Brizweb