2024 Events

ESU Awards Ceremony

Government House was the prestigious venue for the English-Speaking Union (Queensland Branch) awards ceremony hosted by Her Excellency the Governor, the Honourable Dr Jeanette Young AC PSM, on 11 April 2024. The ceremony, attended by 72 ESU members and friends, honoured the 2023 winners of the ESU’s Roly Sussex Short Story Competition and the Secondary School Public Speaking
Competition. Congratulations to all.


• 2nd Row: Her Excellency the Governor of Queensland, the Honourable Dr Jeanette Young AC PSM;

Emeritus Professor Roly Sussex and ESU President Emeritus Professor Caroline Hatcher.

• 3rd Row: ESU President Emeritus Professor Caroline Hatcher addresses the reception;
David Fagan, Chair of the Short Story Competition judging panel,
chats with 2023 Open Division winner Melanie Wild and 2022 winner
Erica Fryberg, now an ESU director and 2024 competition coordinator.

• Bottom Row: ESU winners with (centre) Roly Sussex, the Honourable Dr Jeanette Young and Caroline Hatcher:
o Roly Sussex Short Story Competition, left to right:
Thomas Mallet (Highly Commended, School Division),

Christopher Hernik (Second Prize, School Division),
Jacob Gillam (First Prize, School Division),

Penny Carroll (Highly Commended, Open Division),
Melanie Wild (First Prize, Open Division)

and, far right, Daniel Wright (Highly Commended, School Division)
o Secondary School Public Speaking Competition, left to right:
Eli Gearing (Second Prize, Senior Division),

Sidney Marshall (First Prize, Senior Division),
Samuel Kennedy (Second Prize, Intermediate Division),
Lucas Lu (First Prize, Intermediate Division)

• Top Row: Melanie Wild (First Prize, Short Story Open Division) and
Jacob Gillam
(First Prize, Short Story School Division)

• 2nd Row: Sidney Marshall (First Prize, Public Speaking Senior Division) and Lucas
Lu (First Prize, Public Speaking Intermediate Division)


All Rights Reserved 2024 ESU QLD / Website Design: Brizweb